My journey into coding

Hi there, I'm Zelia, a regular 14 year old girl that's still trying to find her way and create a path of hers in this world.

I have always had the issue of career choice and at times I tend to be depressed. My dad decided to pick a career for me "Marine Engineering", I thought it was the best for me, not until I started coding.

I first learnt JavaScript, but it became too complex for me as I taught myself, mostly because I couldn't get a teacher on my own, then my school got us coding teachers and I began learning Python.

I found myself lost in the world of codes, it was an amazing experience, I started off with my phone and later got a laptop, I've been progressing in the coding classes and I'm working on an app currently. Few days ago, I made up my mind to speak to my dad about my career choice, and when I did he asked for proof and reasons why I would like to pick the career I opted for, I showed my dad my progress in coding, and a preview of what my app will look like. He was stunned and could only smile and say " You can be anything you want to be".

Today, I'm no more that depressed teenager, I'm a teenager with a bright future, a teenager that aims at making a difference in the Cyber world. A Dev in the making, a future Cyber Security member. I figured all this out when I stepped out of my comfort zone and out of my mindset that boys do the codes alone and I found out that codes changed me.

#WomenWhoTech